English Language Learners

The Franklin Township Community School Corporation is committed to meeting the educational needs of each student by generating positive outcomes for all students.  The English Language Learner staff members in each building use a combination of push-in, pull-out and co-teaching services to support the students’ needs and engage students in all domains of language acquisition through individualized accommodations and specialized instruction, according to the Individual Learning Plans (ILPs).


What is English Language Learner (ELL)?

ELL refers to a methodology of providing instructional services to language minority students. A language minority student is any child whose linguistic background, such as country of origin or home environment, includes a language other than English.  ELL services enhance students’ acquisitions of English Language Proficiency and understanding of academic content. Modifications are made to lessons and assignments by the ELL teacher and the teacher in the content area classrooms with the appropriate level of English language development for each student.


ELL Proficiency Levels

ELL student’s proficiency level is determined by assessing his/her listening, speaking, reading, writing, and comprehension with a formal English language Proficiency instrument that identifies students with an ELP level 1 through 6.


Level 1    Entering (no knowledge of English)

Level 2    Beginning(able to respond to some simple communication tasks)

Level 3    Developing (respond with increasing ease to more varied communication tasks but not academic)

Level 4    Expanding ( able to communicate well but need support in academic language)

Level 5    Bridging(able to use English as a means for learning in other academic areas, although some minor errors of conventions are still evident)

Level 6    Reaching (proficiency communicate effectively without difficulty and display academic achievement)


What is WIDA

WIDA stands for World Class Instructional Design and Assessment.  WIDA are a comprehensive set of ELP standards. These standards are designed to help teachers provide high quality instruction and equitable educational opportunities for all K-12 English Learners. The WIDA standards address the acquisition of social/instructional and academic English across all content areas.

The WIDA English Language Development (ELD) standards promote academic language development for English Learners in five areas:


  • Social and Instructional language (the language of school ex: Organize your notes for your test over the civil war)
  • Language of language arts
  • Language of mathematics
  • Language of science
  • Language of social studies


The Franklin Township English Learner team is currently evaluating the English Learner program by utilizing the English Learner Program Evaluation Toolkit from IDOE.  More information from IDOE can be found here: https://www.doe.in.gov/elme

For More Information Contact
Lynlie Schoene

Chief Innovation Officer