School Board

The Franklin Township School Board meets in regular session on the fourth Monday of every month at 6 p.m. Special board meetings to discuss specific issues are scheduled periodically throughout the year. All regular and special board meetings are open to the public, and nearly all meetings are held in the Board/Community Room of the Administration Building, 6141 S. Franklin Rd. Executive sessions are not open to the public and are held only to discuss items specified by statute — like negotiations and personnel issues. No action is taken in closed meetings. In accordance with the law, all official school board action is taken at public meetings. Notices of all meetings are posted in all of the schools and at the Administration Building. Notices are also sent to local newspapers at least 48 hours prior to the meetings.

Agendas are available on the overhead monitors in the Board Room. If you wish to make brief remarks to the board, you may do so under the agenda item “Comments from the Community.”

Follow the link below for meeting dates, agendas, and minutes:

The role of the School Board is to create policy.  The role of the Superintendent is to implement the policy through administrative guidelines, directives and daily interactions with staff, students and the community.

Follow the link below for Corporation Policies:

School Board Members

Zachary Smith Howard
School Board President
Dawn A. Downer
School Board Vice President
Doris L. Gowan
School Board Secretary
Kelly L. Foulk
Larry J. Walker