FC C.U.R.E Project Hosts “Representation Matters”

The Franklin Central High School C.U.R.E. Project hosted a banner dedication ceremony called “Representation Matters” on November 1,  2021, in the Robert L. Mason Auditorium. Superintendent Dr. Hibbard, Principal Matasovsky, FTCSC Administration, School Board Members Kelly Foulk and Dee Dee Gowan, the Franklin Township Education Foundation, faculty, and staff greeted special guests K.P. Singh, Maninder Walia, Indianapolis Deputy Mayor Judith Davis, and retired FC teacher Susan Tomlinson as 18 student leaders displayed the large banners on the stage. These banners were funded to the C.U.R.E. Project by a generous 2021 grant from FTEF members and Director Dianna Miller-Wilson and will be showcased throughout the high school.

Banner honorees and Franklin Central HS student representatives included: Maya Angelou, American poet, memoirist, and civil rights activist represented by Khloe Williams, Duy Phan from World Cultures Club, Fred Korematsu, Presidential Medal of Freedom Recipient for his work in opposing the internment of Japanese Americans during WWII represented by Bria Pillow and Nahum Quarles from the Black Student Union, Caesar Chavez, Mexican American Labor Leader and U.S. Navy Veteran represented by Yanira Rayas & Hanna Ruiz from Key Club & the FCHS Latino Student Union, John Lewis, Civil Rights activist whose work began when he was in his teens and continued until his death at age 80 represented by Aniya Burnett and Brianna Pillow from the Black Student Union, Joy Harjo, current U.S. Poet Laureate & Native American advocate represented by Alayna Britt and Grace Wilson from Creative Writing Club, Oprah Winfrey, actress, writer, TV show host, and philanthropist represented by Carriea Chisolm and Shila Neyland from the Black Student Union, Dolores Huerta, former teacher and co-founder of the National Farm Workers Association represented by Lillian Knaack and  Amira Riggers from Key Club, Malala Yousafzai, Pakistani activist for female education and a Nobel Peace Prize laureate represented by Abbey Beatty, Maddie Lewis from Key Club, KP Singh, nationally known architect and artist, community leader, and an advocate for working together to serve God and humanity represented by Jada Mills, Harman Kaur from World Cultures Club.

The event’s highlight was the words of one of the banner honorees:  K.P. Singh. As a long-time Indianapolis resident who holds four degrees as well as an honorary doctorate in humane letters, Mr. K.P. Singh graciously inspired the audience with his remarks and the message that representation matters. He noted that Indianapolis is an inclusive and welcoming international city, and he challenged the audience to keep learning, strive to make connections, and lead with empathy. Principal Matasovsky closed the ceremony, and a reception followed for all guests. Franklin Central is a diverse, growing community that values our students.The C.U.R.E Project is represented by Principal Jenni Matasovky; Lisa Laker, English teacher; Andrea McKeeman, Media Center DIrector; Paul Osterman, Science Teacher; and Alison Shaw, Business teacher and 2021 FCHS Teacher of the Year.